Do you believe?

“Do you still believe in Santa Clause”? That’s what I casually asked my nine year old while driving a few weeks ago. He looked at me with a smirk and those eyes. The big puppy dog eyes. The kind that have a hint of sadness and can melt a mama’s heart in two seconds.

His first response was “Mom, I don’t want you to be mad.” “Why would I be mad”, I asked him. He went on to tell me he knew Santa wasn’t real because he had looked through the key hole of his door last Christmas and saw me putting presents under the tree.

In that moment, reality slapped him in the face. All he knew of Christmas, up to this point, was a jolly man in a red suit, presents with shiny bows and the story of Jesus’ birth somewhere in the middle. I’m sure he wondered what else I lied to him about. If Santa wasn’t real then what else wasn’t real?

Without giving his mind a chance to run wild, I gave the best explanation I knew how. It went something like this:

“No, the Santa you know is not real. He doesn’t live at the North Pole with elves who make toys. However, St. Nicholas was a real man. He was born in the 3rd century in modern day Turkey. He was raised as a devout Christian. Obeying Jesus’ words to “sell what you own and give the money to the poor,” Nicholas used his whole inheritance to assist the needy, the sick, and the suffering. He dedicated his life to serving God and was made Bishop of Myra while still a young man. Bishop Nicholas became known throughout the land for his generosity to those in need, his love for children, and his concern for sailors and ships. Elaborate feasts were held each year on the date of his death – Dec. 6 – and small gifts were given to children, usually in their shoes, in his honor. The Dutch began a tradition of Sinterklaas that turned into Santa Claus in America. From there, St. Nicholas was morphed into a plump, jolly man in a red suit that delivers gifts to all the children of the world in his magic sleigh. But, that’s not what Christmas is about. The only reason we have any cause to celebrate the most wonderful time of year is because our Savior was born.”

As we begin the count down to Christmas day, my son and I have dived into the story leading up to the birth of The Messiah. How doubt, shame and uncertainty led to the miraculous event that changed the entire world. I want him to fully grasp what a miracle it was and is.

But, while they know the real reason we celebrate, I want both of my children to use the imagination God has given them. I want them to keep the wonder of the season in their hearts.

So,

I understand the exciting traditions of cookies for Santa. Listening for reindeer on the roof. Presents under the tree. I still enjoy all of these at the age of 35. However, this Christmas and all that may follow, in addition to cookies for Santa, we will do Happy Birthday Jesus cookies. Before waiting for magical reindeer, we will ponder the magic of what it must have felt like after His birth. More than just wrapped presents, we will pause and be still as the Holy Spirit wraps us in His presence.

DXmz1L1418850730

The magic, hope and wonder that we are all so desperate to capture year after year during this time is here with us year round! And it all started when a virgin conceived and bore a son whose name was Immanuel. (Matthew 1:23 NLT)

Do you believe?

Further reading:
John 1:9-14 The true light, which gives light to everyone, was coming into the world. He was in the world, and the world was made through him, yet the world did not know him. He came to his own, and his own people did not receive him. But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God, who were born, not of blood nor of the will of the flesh nor of the will of man, but of God. And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth.

Leave a comment